Albigenses

10 best books like Albigenses (Charles Robert Maturin): Euphues the Anatomy of Wit: Euphues & His England, The Marble Faun, An Ethiopian Romance, Callirhoe, Castle Richmond, Ormond, Born in Exile, The Stechlin, The Monastery, The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle

AuthorJohn Lyly
ISBN0781272130
EARLY ENGLISH WIT, POETRY & SATIRE. Imagine holding history in your hands. Now you can. Digitally preserved and previously accessible only through libraries as Early English Books Online, this rare material is now available in single print editions. Thousands of books written between 1475...
AuthorNathaniel Hawthorne
ISBN0192839764
The fragility-and the durability-of human life and art dominate this story of American expatriates in Italy in the mid-nineteenth century. Befriended by Donatello, a young Italian with the classical grace of the "Marble Faun," Miriam, Hilda, and Kenyon find their pursuit of art taking a sinister...
AuthorHeliodorus of Emesa
ISBN0812216725
"Upon a rock sat a maiden of such inexpressible beauty as to be supposed divine. . . . Her head inclined forward without moving, for she was looking fixedly at a young man who lay at her feet. The man was disfigured with wounds, but seemed to rouse himself a little as from a deep sleep, almost of death itself....
AuthorChariton
ISBN0674995309
Which book is the world’s earliest novel? That question will probably never be definitively answered, but Callirhoe may have the best claim of any text out there. Callirhoe is one of seven novels surviving more or less intact from western antiquity: two Roman ones (The Golden Ass and the Satyricon)...
AuthorAnthony Trollope
ISBN1406930245
Castle Richmond, one of Trollope’s standalone novels, is the story of two families―the Fitzgeralds of Castle Richmond of the title and the Desmonds of Desmond Court, set in the backdrop of the Irish famine. The story opens with Owen Fizgerald, a cousin of the Castle Richmond Fitzgeralds, falling...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorGeorge Gissing
With the growth of his militant egoism, there had developed in Godwin Peak an excess of nervous sensibility which threatened to deprive his character of the initiative rightly belonging to it. Self-assertion is the practical complement of self-esteem. To be largely endowed with the latter quality,...
AuthorTheodor Fontane
ISBN1571130241
Theodor Fontane (1819-98), widely regarded as Germany's most significant novelist between Goethe and Thomas Mann, pioneered the German novel of manners and upper-class society, following a trend in European fiction of the period. The Stechlin is Fontane's last book and his political testament....
AuthorWalter Scott
ISBN1406932531
Set on the eve of the Protestant Reformation in Scotland, The Monastery is full of supernatural events, theological conflict, and humor. Located in the lawless Scottish Borders, the novel depicts the monastery of Kennaquhair (a thinly disguised Melrose Abbey, whose ruins are still to be seen near...
AuthorTobias Smollett
ISBN1847024920


Does the above book cover for Tobias Smollett's The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle look like an invitation to a frolicking, sexually charged escapade all in the spirit of good, clean fun? That's precisely what the publisher of this edition is aiming for.

Much, much different from...
AuthorHenry Fielding
ISBN1426413807
This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not...
AuthorWalter Pater
ISBN0140432361
It was as a critic and a humanist that Pater (1839-1894), professor at Oxford, became a powerful influence on his own and succeeding generations, claiming disciples as diverse as Virginia Woolf and Ezra Pound. This has been described as "the most highly finished of all his works and the expression of...
AuthorEdith Anna Oenone Somerville
ISBN1879941465
Voor wie al eens graag een Victoriaanse roman achterover slaat, is dit een echte aanrader. Een boek geschreven door twee vrouwen (net Vrouwendag geweest, dus dat moest ik wel vermelden) dat uitblinkt in schitterende karaktertekeningen. Het boek begint erg humoristisch, waarbij de kleine kantjes...
AuthorIvan Turgenev
ISBN0548019274
1916. Turgenieff (Turgenev), novelist, poet, and playwright, known for his detailed descriptions about everyday live in Russia in the 19th century, he portrayed realistically the peasantry and the rising intelligentsia in its attempt to move the country into a new age. Two of Turgenieff's smaller...
AuthorAugust Strindberg
ISBN0140444882
Axel Borg, a man in his thirties, has been appointed superintendent of fisheries on one of the small islands in the Stockholm Archipelago. Like Strindberg at that age, he is a prophet without honor, his achievements having won him distinction only in foreign countries. On the island he has to combat...
AuthorAlexandre Dumas
ISBN2221064550
This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfectionssuch as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important,...
AuthorJames Stephens
ISBN1582870225
"The Charwoman's Daughter is the strange wistful story of sixteen-year-old Mary, the only child of her fiercely protective, widowed mother.... Mary and her mother live in a one-room tenement flat that is home to the rituals of their bitter love. By day her mother cleans the houses of the Dublin rich,...
AuthorBenito Pérez Galdós
ISBN0140433058
Capturing a ninteenth-century Spanish world of political tumult and personal obsession, Benito Pérez Galdós's Fortunata and Jacinta tells of two women who love the same man unfailingly—one as his mistress, the other as his wife.

In this new and complete translation, Agnes Moncy Gullón...
AuthorThomas Nashe
ISBN0140430679
Thomas Nashe, a contemporary of Shakespeare, was writing in the 1590s, the zenith of the English Renaissance. Rebellious in spirit, conservative in philosophy, Nashe's brilliant and comic invective earned him a reputation as the 'English Juvenal' who 'carried the deadly stockado in his pen.' In...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023