The Monastery

10 best books like The Monastery (Walter Scott): Euphues the Anatomy of Wit: Euphues & His England, Callirhoe, Albigenses, Castle Richmond, Ormond, Born in Exile, The Stechlin, The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle, Amelia, Three John Silence Stories

AuthorJohn Lyly
ISBN0781272130
EARLY ENGLISH WIT, POETRY & SATIRE. Imagine holding history in your hands. Now you can. Digitally preserved and previously accessible only through libraries as Early English Books Online, this rare material is now available in single print editions. Thousands of books written between 1475...
AuthorChariton
ISBN0674995309
Which book is the world’s earliest novel? That question will probably never be definitively answered, but Callirhoe may have the best claim of any text out there. Callirhoe is one of seven novels surviving more or less intact from western antiquity: two Roman ones (The Golden Ass and the Satyricon)...
AuthorCharles Robert Maturin
Un gran novelón gótico. Con Maturin ya sabes que te puedes esperar: páginas y páginas de historias que se entremezclan entre sí y que están tan bien narradas que son capaces de llevarte al tiempo y lugar donde sucedieron. Las descripciones del autor son muy precisas y al igual que con Melmoth la...
AuthorAnthony Trollope
ISBN1406930245
Castle Richmond, one of Trollope’s standalone novels, is the story of two families―the Fitzgeralds of Castle Richmond of the title and the Desmonds of Desmond Court, set in the backdrop of the Irish famine. The story opens with Owen Fizgerald, a cousin of the Castle Richmond Fitzgeralds, falling...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorGeorge Gissing
With the growth of his militant egoism, there had developed in Godwin Peak an excess of nervous sensibility which threatened to deprive his character of the initiative rightly belonging to it. Self-assertion is the practical complement of self-esteem. To be largely endowed with the latter quality,...
AuthorTheodor Fontane
ISBN1571130241
Theodor Fontane (1819-98), widely regarded as Germany's most significant novelist between Goethe and Thomas Mann, pioneered the German novel of manners and upper-class society, following a trend in European fiction of the period. The Stechlin is Fontane's last book and his political testament....
AuthorTobias Smollett
ISBN1847024920


Does the above book cover for Tobias Smollett's The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle look like an invitation to a frolicking, sexually charged escapade all in the spirit of good, clean fun? That's precisely what the publisher of this edition is aiming for.

Much, much different from...
AuthorHenry Fielding
ISBN1426413807
This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not...
AuthorAlgernon Blackwood
One of the former British writers of supernatural tales in the twentieth century, Algernon Blackwood (1869–1951) wrote stories in which the slow accumulation of telling details produced a foreboding atmosphere of almost unendurable tension. Blackwood's literary renown began in 1908 with the...
AuthorWalter Pater
ISBN0140432361
It was as a critic and a humanist that Pater (1839-1894), professor at Oxford, became a powerful influence on his own and succeeding generations, claiming disciples as diverse as Virginia Woolf and Ezra Pound. This has been described as "the most highly finished of all his works and the expression of...
AuthorEdith Anna Oenone Somerville
ISBN1879941465
Voor wie al eens graag een Victoriaanse roman achterover slaat, is dit een echte aanrader. Een boek geschreven door twee vrouwen (net Vrouwendag geweest, dus dat moest ik wel vermelden) dat uitblinkt in schitterende karaktertekeningen. Het boek begint erg humoristisch, waarbij de kleine kantjes...
AuthorIvan Turgenev
ISBN0548019274
1916. Turgenieff (Turgenev), novelist, poet, and playwright, known for his detailed descriptions about everyday live in Russia in the 19th century, he portrayed realistically the peasantry and the rising intelligentsia in its attempt to move the country into a new age. Two of Turgenieff's smaller...
AuthorAugust Strindberg
ISBN0140444882
Axel Borg, a man in his thirties, has been appointed superintendent of fisheries on one of the small islands in the Stockholm Archipelago. Like Strindberg at that age, he is a prophet without honor, his achievements having won him distinction only in foreign countries. On the island he has to combat...
AuthorAlexandre Dumas
ISBN2221064550
This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfectionssuch as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important,...
AuthorHenry MacKenzie
ISBN0192840320
Mackenzie's hugely popular novel of 1771 is the foremost work of the sentimental movement, in which sentiment and sensibility were allied with true virtue, and sensitivity is the mark of the man of feeling. The hero, Harley, is followed in a series of episodes demonstrating his benevolence in an uncaring...
AuthorCarol Townend
ISBN0373306423
HER WARRIOR SLAVE

Bound in chains, enslaved barbarian Sir William Bradfer stands proud in the Constantinople slave market. As a warrior, he’s trained in the art of survival. Lady-in-waiting Anna of Heraklea is betrothed to be married—against her will. Catching sight of the magnificent...
AuthorSteven Bredice
On a remote Canadian lake, a group of vacationing fishermen discover there is something monstrous lurking in the water.

George Mapolis is a biology professor and cryptozoologist coping with the disintegration of his marriage and the suicide of a close friend. To regain his emotional equilibrium,...
AuthorJohn-Paul Cleary
REVIEWS
‘You won't be able to put this book down, I know I couldn't and spent nights reading until I passed out with my kindle in hand. This is by far the best book I have read in a very long time.’
John (Wexford, USA)

'This book really was unputdownable. Perhaps one of the best new sci-fi...
AuthorAnthony Ryan
The Asteroid Belt, home to mining corporations and those who prefer to live beyond the heavily policed habitats of Earth orbit - the perfect hunting ground for Bad Jack, captain of the Dead Reckoning and the most feared pirate in the solar system. About to embark upon the biggest job of his career, Jack...
AuthorDiana Wilder
The crash of Pharaoh's colossal statue into a throng of worshippers brings the festival of the good god Ptah of Memphis to a sudden, bloody end. Prince Khay, the High Priest, barely escaped being killed, himself. He finds clues in the wreckage that show that the collapse was deliberately set. Now he is...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023