Amelia

10 best books like Amelia (Henry Fielding): Caleb Williams, Euphues the Anatomy of Wit: Euphues & His England, Hyperion oder Der Eremit in Griechenland, Roxana, A Sentimental Journey, The Female Quixote, Camilla, The History of Rasselas, Prince of Abissinia, A Tale of a Tub, Callirhoe

AuthorWilliam Godwin
ISBN0141441232
When honest young Caleb Williams comes to work as a secretary for Squire Falkland, he soon begins to suspect that his new master is hiding a terrible secret. But as he digs deeper into Falkland's past and finally unearths the guilty truth, the results of his curiosity prove calamitous when - even though...
AuthorJohn Lyly
ISBN0781272130
EARLY ENGLISH WIT, POETRY & SATIRE. Imagine holding history in your hands. Now you can. Digitally preserved and previously accessible only through libraries as Early English Books Online, this rare material is now available in single print editions. Thousands of books written between 1475...
AuthorFriedrich Hölderlin
ISBN3938484195
Die schönste Dichtung deutscher Sprache ist Hölderlins 'Hyperion' vielfach genannt worden, ein unübertroffenes Meisterwerk des deutschen Idealismus, neben dem 'Faust' der Inbegriff klassischer deutschsprachiger Literatur. Seine Wirkung besonders auf die Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts...
AuthorDaniel Defoe
ISBN0192834592
Roxana (1724), Defoe's last and darkest novel, is the autobiography of a woman who has traded her virtue, at first for survival, and then for fame and fortune. Its narrator tells the story of her own 'wicked' life as the mistress of rich and powerful men. A resourceful adventuress, she is also an unforgiving...
AuthorLaurence Sterne
ISBN0140437797
A furiously witty response to Tobias Smollett's curmudgeonly 'Travels through France and Italy', Laurence Sterne's A Sentimental Journey through France and Italy became a hugely influential work of travel writing in its own right. This Penguin Classics edition includes an introduction and notes...
AuthorCharlotte Lennox
ISBN0192835726
The Female Quixote, a vivacious and ironical novel parodying the style of Cervantes, portrays Arabella, the beautiful daughter of a marquis, whose passion for reading romances colors her approach to her own life and causes many comical and melodramatic misunderstandings among her relatives and...
AuthorFanny Burney
First published in 1796, Camilla deals with the matrimonial concerns of a group of young people - Camilla Tyrold and her sisters, the daughters of a country parson, and their cousin Indiana Lynmere-and, in particular, with the love affair between Camilla herself and her eligible suitor, Edgar Mandlebert....
AuthorSamuel Johnson
ISBN0192839136

Written in one week to defray the cost of his mother's funeral, Johnson's moral tale is a superior example of the prose of its era, and its era—the Age of Enlightenment—is renowned for the quality of its prose. It is true that Candide—written in 1759, the same year as Rasselas--excels Johnson's...
AuthorJonathan Swift
ISBN0141018879
'A Tale of a Tub' was the first big work written by Jonathan Swift. It is arguably his most difficult satire, and perhaps his most masterly. The Tale is a prose parody which is divided into sections of "digression" and a "tale" of three brothers, each representing one of the main branches of western Christianity....
AuthorChariton
ISBN0674995309
Which book is the world’s earliest novel? That question will probably never be definitively answered, but Callirhoe may have the best claim of any text out there. Callirhoe is one of seven novels surviving more or less intact from western antiquity: two Roman ones (The Golden Ass and the Satyricon)...
AuthorCharles Robert Maturin
Un gran novelón gótico. Con Maturin ya sabes que te puedes esperar: páginas y páginas de historias que se entremezclan entre sí y que están tan bien narradas que son capaces de llevarte al tiempo y lugar donde sucedieron. Las descripciones del autor son muy precisas y al igual que con Melmoth la...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorGeorge Gissing
With the growth of his militant egoism, there had developed in Godwin Peak an excess of nervous sensibility which threatened to deprive his character of the initiative rightly belonging to it. Self-assertion is the practical complement of self-esteem. To be largely endowed with the latter quality,...
AuthorWalter Scott
ISBN1406932531
Set on the eve of the Protestant Reformation in Scotland, The Monastery is full of supernatural events, theological conflict, and humor. Located in the lawless Scottish Borders, the novel depicts the monastery of Kennaquhair (a thinly disguised Melrose Abbey, whose ruins are still to be seen near...
AuthorThomas Nashe
ISBN0140430679
Thomas Nashe, a contemporary of Shakespeare, was writing in the 1590s, the zenith of the English Renaissance. Rebellious in spirit, conservative in philosophy, Nashe's brilliant and comic invective earned him a reputation as the 'English Juvenal' who 'carried the deadly stockado in his pen.' In...
AuthorHenry MacKenzie
ISBN0192840320
Mackenzie's hugely popular novel of 1771 is the foremost work of the sentimental movement, in which sentiment and sensibility were allied with true virtue, and sensitivity is the mark of the man of feeling. The hero, Harley, is followed in a series of episodes demonstrating his benevolence in an uncaring...
AuthorEliza Fowler Haywood
ISBN1551113678
Panting and misspelled, Love in Excess is easy to roll your eyes at. But I think it deserves more. It was a blockbuster smash when it was published in 1720, as popular as Robinson Crusoe. It influenced Samuel Richardson and it's much more fun than his work. It was written by a woman and shows women who have...
AuthorAlexander Pope
Rich with hilarious episodes, Scriblerus is an ingenious satire of false learning and bad taste that has much to say to the pseudo-intellectual world of today. By taking one ambitious father and his determination to do everything in his power to produce a child of genius, Pope exposes the true folly...
AuthorJean-Jacques Rousseau
ISBN0874518253
An elegant translation of one of the most popular novels of its time. Rousseau's great epistolary novel, Julie, or the New Heloise, has been virtually unavailable in English since 1810. In it, Rousseau reconceptualized the relationship of the individual to the collective and articulated a new moral...
AuthorTobias Smollett
ISBN0140433325
Roderick is combative, often violent, but capable of great affection and generosity. His father had been disinherited and has left Scotland leaving his son penniless. After a brief apprenticeship to a surgeon, the innocent Roderick travels to London where he encounters various rogues.

For...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023