The Real Charlotte

10 best books like The Real Charlotte (Edith Anna Oenone Somerville): Girl with Green Eyes, Hemsöborna, Fools of Fortune, Worstward Ho, Albigenses, Castle Richmond, Ormond, Born in Exile, The Stechlin, The Monastery

AuthorEdna O'Brien
ISBN0140021086
In one interview Edna said

I was reading van Gogh’s letters. My God! I’m surprised he cut off only one ear

Not relevant at all, but it is funny.

On to the book. So, in 1962, one year before Betty Friedan's Feminine Mystique kicked off the 2nd wave of feminism, and one year before...
Hemsöborna
AuthorAugust Strindberg
ISBN9127052273
Hemsöborna är en roman av August Strindberg som utgavs 1887, ett år efter Tjänstekvinnans son. Strindberg gjorde även en dramaversion av berättelsen 1889. Boken skrevs under Strindbergs vistelse i Schweiz och södra Tyskland. De inledande raderna har blivit mycket berömda, så kallad...
AuthorWilliam Trevor
ISBN0143039628
Penguin Classics is proud to welcome William Trevor—"Ireland’s answer to Chekhov" (The Boston Globe) and "one of the best writers of our era" (The Washington Post)—to our distinguished list of literary masters. In this award-winning novel, an informer’s body is found on the estate of a wealthy...
AuthorSamuel Beckett
ISBN0394532309
Beckett's second last prose text, Worstward Ho, is a novella written in 1983, shortly after the largely autobiographical Company and an ironic theological speculation, both previously published as the first two parts of a late trilogy of short novels. The concentration of language and precision...
AuthorCharles Robert Maturin
Un gran novelón gótico. Con Maturin ya sabes que te puedes esperar: páginas y páginas de historias que se entremezclan entre sí y que están tan bien narradas que son capaces de llevarte al tiempo y lugar donde sucedieron. Las descripciones del autor son muy precisas y al igual que con Melmoth la...
AuthorAnthony Trollope
ISBN1406930245
Castle Richmond, one of Trollope’s standalone novels, is the story of two families―the Fitzgeralds of Castle Richmond of the title and the Desmonds of Desmond Court, set in the backdrop of the Irish famine. The story opens with Owen Fizgerald, a cousin of the Castle Richmond Fitzgeralds, falling...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorGeorge Gissing
With the growth of his militant egoism, there had developed in Godwin Peak an excess of nervous sensibility which threatened to deprive his character of the initiative rightly belonging to it. Self-assertion is the practical complement of self-esteem. To be largely endowed with the latter quality,...
AuthorTheodor Fontane
ISBN1571130241
Theodor Fontane (1819-98), widely regarded as Germany's most significant novelist between Goethe and Thomas Mann, pioneered the German novel of manners and upper-class society, following a trend in European fiction of the period. The Stechlin is Fontane's last book and his political testament....
AuthorWalter Scott
ISBN1406932531
Set on the eve of the Protestant Reformation in Scotland, The Monastery is full of supernatural events, theological conflict, and humor. Located in the lawless Scottish Borders, the novel depicts the monastery of Kennaquhair (a thinly disguised Melrose Abbey, whose ruins are still to be seen near...
AuthorWalter Pater
ISBN0140432361
It was as a critic and a humanist that Pater (1839-1894), professor at Oxford, became a powerful influence on his own and succeeding generations, claiming disciples as diverse as Virginia Woolf and Ezra Pound. This has been described as "the most highly finished of all his works and the expression of...
AuthorElizabeth Bowen
ISBN1400031052
In A World of Love, an uneasy group of relations are living under one roof at Montefort, a decaying manor in the Irish countryside. When twenty-year-old Jane finds in the attic a packet of love letters written years ago by Guy, her mother’s one-time fiance who died in World War I, the discovery has explosive...
AuthorIvan Turgenev
ISBN0548019274
1916. Turgenieff (Turgenev), novelist, poet, and playwright, known for his detailed descriptions about everyday live in Russia in the 19th century, he portrayed realistically the peasantry and the rising intelligentsia in its attempt to move the country into a new age. Two of Turgenieff's smaller...
AuthorAlexandre Dumas
ISBN2221064550
This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfectionssuch as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important,...
AuthorBenito Pérez Galdós
ISBN0140433058
Capturing a ninteenth-century Spanish world of political tumult and personal obsession, Benito Pérez Galdós's Fortunata and Jacinta tells of two women who love the same man unfailingly—one as his mistress, the other as his wife.

In this new and complete translation, Agnes Moncy Gullón...
AuthorJames Plunkett
ISBN0815969090
.
AuthorJohn Banville
ISBN1567920969
A historian, trying to finish a long-overdue book on Isaac Newton, rents a cottage not far by train from Dublin for the summer. All he needs, he thinks, is a few weeks of concentrated work. Why, he must unravel, did Newton break down in 1693? What possessed him to write that strange letter to his friend John...
The Bitter Glass
AuthorEilís Dillon
ISBN0905169964
I liked this a lot: it's beautifully written and well observed.

However, the writing style is very odd to an early twenty-first century reader. We've got used to reading a third person limited point of view in contemporary fiction: i.e. third person that's very close to first person -- we're...
A Drama in Muslin
AuthorGeorge Moore
ISBN0861400569
mmokay - i put up the publishers description, and now i write a review so jen can use this in her book club. i read this in college so my details are not perfect, but i remember loving it. it's about mothers trying to get their daughters married, and the lengths they will go to to accomplish this. it's like an...
The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby- Volume 1
AuthorCharles Dickens
ISBN1434673332
This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023