Castle Richmond

10 best books like Castle Richmond (Anthony Trollope): Erewhon, The Temptation of St. Antony, The Hand of Ethelberta, The Marble Faun, Albigenses, Ormond, Born in Exile, The Stechlin, The Monastery, The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle

AuthorSamuel Butler
ISBN0543899462
Erewhon, as a satire and/or essay, is interesting and has some thought provoking ideas. Erewhon as a novel has a fairly thin but still interesting plot line in an intriguing environment. Unfortunately, meshing the two of these together makes for a difficult book to swallow at times.

I enjoyed...
AuthorGustave Flaubert
ISBN0140444106
A book that deeply influenced the young Freud and was the inspiration for many artists, The Temptation of Saint Anthony was Flaubert's lifelong work, thirty years in the making. Based on the story of the third-century saint who lived on an isolated mountaintop in the Egyptian desert, it is a fantastical...
AuthorThomas Hardy
ISBN0140435026
Adventuress and opportunist, Ethelberta reinvents herself to disguise her humble origins, launching a brilliant career as a society poet in London with her family acting incognito as her servants. Turning the male-dominated literary world to her advantage, she happily exploits the attentions...
AuthorNathaniel Hawthorne
ISBN0192839764
The fragility-and the durability-of human life and art dominate this story of American expatriates in Italy in the mid-nineteenth century. Befriended by Donatello, a young Italian with the classical grace of the "Marble Faun," Miriam, Hilda, and Kenyon find their pursuit of art taking a sinister...
AuthorCharles Robert Maturin
Un gran novelón gótico. Con Maturin ya sabes que te puedes esperar: páginas y páginas de historias que se entremezclan entre sí y que están tan bien narradas que son capaces de llevarte al tiempo y lugar donde sucedieron. Las descripciones del autor son muy precisas y al igual que con Melmoth la...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorGeorge Gissing
With the growth of his militant egoism, there had developed in Godwin Peak an excess of nervous sensibility which threatened to deprive his character of the initiative rightly belonging to it. Self-assertion is the practical complement of self-esteem. To be largely endowed with the latter quality,...
AuthorTheodor Fontane
ISBN1571130241
Theodor Fontane (1819-98), widely regarded as Germany's most significant novelist between Goethe and Thomas Mann, pioneered the German novel of manners and upper-class society, following a trend in European fiction of the period. The Stechlin is Fontane's last book and his political testament....
AuthorWalter Scott
ISBN1406932531
Set on the eve of the Protestant Reformation in Scotland, The Monastery is full of supernatural events, theological conflict, and humor. Located in the lawless Scottish Borders, the novel depicts the monastery of Kennaquhair (a thinly disguised Melrose Abbey, whose ruins are still to be seen near...
AuthorTobias Smollett
ISBN1847024920


Does the above book cover for Tobias Smollett's The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle look like an invitation to a frolicking, sexually charged escapade all in the spirit of good, clean fun? That's precisely what the publisher of this edition is aiming for.

Much, much different from...
AuthorHenry Fielding
ISBN1426413807
This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not...
AuthorWalter Pater
ISBN0140432361
It was as a critic and a humanist that Pater (1839-1894), professor at Oxford, became a powerful influence on his own and succeeding generations, claiming disciples as diverse as Virginia Woolf and Ezra Pound. This has been described as "the most highly finished of all his works and the expression of...
AuthorEdith Anna Oenone Somerville
ISBN1879941465
Voor wie al eens graag een Victoriaanse roman achterover slaat, is dit een echte aanrader. Een boek geschreven door twee vrouwen (net Vrouwendag geweest, dus dat moest ik wel vermelden) dat uitblinkt in schitterende karaktertekeningen. Het boek begint erg humoristisch, waarbij de kleine kantjes...
AuthorIvan Turgenev
ISBN0548019274
1916. Turgenieff (Turgenev), novelist, poet, and playwright, known for his detailed descriptions about everyday live in Russia in the 19th century, he portrayed realistically the peasantry and the rising intelligentsia in its attempt to move the country into a new age. Two of Turgenieff's smaller...
AuthorAugust Strindberg
ISBN0140444882
Axel Borg, a man in his thirties, has been appointed superintendent of fisheries on one of the small islands in the Stockholm Archipelago. Like Strindberg at that age, he is a prophet without honor, his achievements having won him distinction only in foreign countries. On the island he has to combat...
AuthorBenito Pérez Galdós
ISBN0140433058
Capturing a ninteenth-century Spanish world of political tumult and personal obsession, Benito Pérez Galdós's Fortunata and Jacinta tells of two women who love the same man unfailingly—one as his mistress, the other as his wife.

In this new and complete translation, Agnes Moncy Gullón...
AuthorHenry MacKenzie
ISBN0192840320
Mackenzie's hugely popular novel of 1771 is the foremost work of the sentimental movement, in which sentiment and sensibility were allied with true virtue, and sensitivity is the mark of the man of feeling. The hero, Harley, is followed in a series of episodes demonstrating his benevolence in an uncaring...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023