Born in Exile

10 best books like Born in Exile (George Gissing): The Temptation of St. Antony, The Hand of Ethelberta, The Marble Faun, News from Nowhere, Some Experiences of an Irish R.M., Albigenses, Castle Richmond, Ormond, The Stechlin, The Monastery

AuthorGustave Flaubert
ISBN0140444106
A book that deeply influenced the young Freud and was the inspiration for many artists, The Temptation of Saint Anthony was Flaubert's lifelong work, thirty years in the making. Based on the story of the third-century saint who lived on an isolated mountaintop in the Egyptian desert, it is a fantastical...
AuthorThomas Hardy
ISBN0140435026
Adventuress and opportunist, Ethelberta reinvents herself to disguise her humble origins, launching a brilliant career as a society poet in London with her family acting incognito as her servants. Turning the male-dominated literary world to her advantage, she happily exploits the attentions...
AuthorNathaniel Hawthorne
ISBN0192839764
The fragility-and the durability-of human life and art dominate this story of American expatriates in Italy in the mid-nineteenth century. Befriended by Donatello, a young Italian with the classical grace of the "Marble Faun," Miriam, Hilda, and Kenyon find their pursuit of art taking a sinister...
AuthorWilliam Morris
ISBN0192801775
News from Nowhere(1890) is the best-known prose work of William Morris and the only significant English utopia to be written since Thomas More's. The novel describes the encounter between a visitor from the nineteenth century, William Guest, and a decentralized and humane socialist future. Set...
AuthorEdith Anna Oenone Somerville
ISBN1879941406
Absolutely hilarious. The British judge, Major Yeates the RM (for Royal Magistrate), arrives in rain, soon offered a horse by his savvy landlord who's already overcharging: "…a stout grey animal. I recognised with despair that I was about to be compelled to buy a horse. Jolting to my entrance gate...
AuthorCharles Robert Maturin
Un gran novelón gótico. Con Maturin ya sabes que te puedes esperar: páginas y páginas de historias que se entremezclan entre sí y que están tan bien narradas que son capaces de llevarte al tiempo y lugar donde sucedieron. Las descripciones del autor son muy precisas y al igual que con Melmoth la...
AuthorAnthony Trollope
ISBN1406930245
Castle Richmond, one of Trollope’s standalone novels, is the story of two families―the Fitzgeralds of Castle Richmond of the title and the Desmonds of Desmond Court, set in the backdrop of the Irish famine. The story opens with Owen Fizgerald, a cousin of the Castle Richmond Fitzgeralds, falling...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorTheodor Fontane
ISBN1571130241
Theodor Fontane (1819-98), widely regarded as Germany's most significant novelist between Goethe and Thomas Mann, pioneered the German novel of manners and upper-class society, following a trend in European fiction of the period. The Stechlin is Fontane's last book and his political testament....
AuthorWalter Scott
ISBN1406932531
Set on the eve of the Protestant Reformation in Scotland, The Monastery is full of supernatural events, theological conflict, and humor. Located in the lawless Scottish Borders, the novel depicts the monastery of Kennaquhair (a thinly disguised Melrose Abbey, whose ruins are still to be seen near...
AuthorHenry Fielding
ISBN1426413807
This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not...
AuthorGeorge Meredith
ISBN0140434836
Of all nineteenth-century English novels, " claims Edward Mendelson in his Introduction to this edition, "The Ordeal of Richard Feverel is the most self-consciously literary in its style and structure and the most sexually explicit in its plot and theme." First published in 1859, Meredith's first...
AuthorWalter Pater
ISBN0140432361
It was as a critic and a humanist that Pater (1839-1894), professor at Oxford, became a powerful influence on his own and succeeding generations, claiming disciples as diverse as Virginia Woolf and Ezra Pound. This has been described as "the most highly finished of all his works and the expression of...
AuthorIvan Turgenev
ISBN0548019274
1916. Turgenieff (Turgenev), novelist, poet, and playwright, known for his detailed descriptions about everyday live in Russia in the 19th century, he portrayed realistically the peasantry and the rising intelligentsia in its attempt to move the country into a new age. Two of Turgenieff's smaller...
AuthorAugust Strindberg
ISBN0140444882
Axel Borg, a man in his thirties, has been appointed superintendent of fisheries on one of the small islands in the Stockholm Archipelago. Like Strindberg at that age, he is a prophet without honor, his achievements having won him distinction only in foreign countries. On the island he has to combat...
AuthorAlexandre Dumas
ISBN2221064550
This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfectionssuch as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important,...
AuthorJames Stephens
ISBN1582870225
"The Charwoman's Daughter is the strange wistful story of sixteen-year-old Mary, the only child of her fiercely protective, widowed mother.... Mary and her mother live in a one-room tenement flat that is home to the rituals of their bitter love. By day her mother cleans the houses of the Dublin rich,...
AuthorBenito Pérez Galdós
ISBN0140433058
Capturing a ninteenth-century Spanish world of political tumult and personal obsession, Benito Pérez Galdós's Fortunata and Jacinta tells of two women who love the same man unfailingly—one as his mistress, the other as his wife.

In this new and complete translation, Agnes Moncy Gullón...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023