Rudin a Romance and a King Lear of the Steppes

10 best books like Rudin a Romance and a King Lear of the Steppes (Ivan Turgenev): The Temptation of St. Antony, Der arme Spielmann, Summer in Baden-Baden, Albigenses, Castle Richmond, Ormond, Born in Exile, The Stechlin, The Monastery, Marius the Epicurean

AuthorGustave Flaubert
ISBN0140444106
A book that deeply influenced the young Freud and was the inspiration for many artists, The Temptation of Saint Anthony was Flaubert's lifelong work, thirty years in the making. Based on the story of the third-century saint who lived on an isolated mountaintop in the Egyptian desert, it is a fantastical...
AuthorFranz Grillparzer
ISBN1406819433
Eine schlichte, stille Geschichte. Grillparzer thematisiert in seiner Rahmennovelle den tragischen Kontrast zwischen universellem Kunstanspruch und tatsächlichem künstlerischem Vermögen. Der prinzipientreue Spielmann Jakob ist von seiner Berufung zum Geiger überzeugt, obwohl sein...
AuthorLeonid Tsypkin
ISBN0811215482
Summer in Baden-Baden was acclaimed by The New York Review of Books as "a short poetic masterpiece" and by Donald Fanger in The Los Angeles Times as "gripping, mysterious and profoundly moving."


A complex, highly original novel, Summer in Baden-Baden has a double narrative. It is wintertime,...
AuthorCharles Robert Maturin
Un gran novelón gótico. Con Maturin ya sabes que te puedes esperar: páginas y páginas de historias que se entremezclan entre sí y que están tan bien narradas que son capaces de llevarte al tiempo y lugar donde sucedieron. Las descripciones del autor son muy precisas y al igual que con Melmoth la...
AuthorAnthony Trollope
ISBN1406930245
Castle Richmond, one of Trollope’s standalone novels, is the story of two families―the Fitzgeralds of Castle Richmond of the title and the Desmonds of Desmond Court, set in the backdrop of the Irish famine. The story opens with Owen Fizgerald, a cousin of the Castle Richmond Fitzgeralds, falling...
AuthorMaria Edgeworth
ISBN0140436448
A great early nineteenth-century episodic novel of an orphan boy's rise to the upper classes, in the tradition of Tom Jones, Joseph Andrews et al. The eponymous Harry Ormand is raised side-by-side with the son of the local lord, Sir Ulick O'Shane; his low-birth, however, keeps him from developing the...
AuthorGeorge Gissing
With the growth of his militant egoism, there had developed in Godwin Peak an excess of nervous sensibility which threatened to deprive his character of the initiative rightly belonging to it. Self-assertion is the practical complement of self-esteem. To be largely endowed with the latter quality,...
AuthorTheodor Fontane
ISBN1571130241
Theodor Fontane (1819-98), widely regarded as Germany's most significant novelist between Goethe and Thomas Mann, pioneered the German novel of manners and upper-class society, following a trend in European fiction of the period. The Stechlin is Fontane's last book and his political testament....
AuthorWalter Scott
ISBN1406932531
Set on the eve of the Protestant Reformation in Scotland, The Monastery is full of supernatural events, theological conflict, and humor. Located in the lawless Scottish Borders, the novel depicts the monastery of Kennaquhair (a thinly disguised Melrose Abbey, whose ruins are still to be seen near...
AuthorWalter Pater
ISBN0140432361
It was as a critic and a humanist that Pater (1839-1894), professor at Oxford, became a powerful influence on his own and succeeding generations, claiming disciples as diverse as Virginia Woolf and Ezra Pound. This has been described as "the most highly finished of all his works and the expression of...
AuthorEdith Anna Oenone Somerville
ISBN1879941465
Voor wie al eens graag een Victoriaanse roman achterover slaat, is dit een echte aanrader. Een boek geschreven door twee vrouwen (net Vrouwendag geweest, dus dat moest ik wel vermelden) dat uitblinkt in schitterende karaktertekeningen. Het boek begint erg humoristisch, waarbij de kleine kantjes...
AuthorAugust Strindberg
ISBN0140444882
Axel Borg, a man in his thirties, has been appointed superintendent of fisheries on one of the small islands in the Stockholm Archipelago. Like Strindberg at that age, he is a prophet without honor, his achievements having won him distinction only in foreign countries. On the island he has to combat...
Thaïs
AuthorAnatole France
ISBN1587158558
In those days the hermits of the desert lived in huts on the banks of the Nile, where they lived abstemious lives, taking no food till after sunset, and eating nothing but bread with a little salt and hyssop.They lived in temperance and chastity, they wore a hair shirt and a hood, slept on the bare ground...
The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby- Volume 1
AuthorCharles Dickens
ISBN1434673332
This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not...
The Vicar of Tours
AuthorHonoré de Balzac
ISBN1419186698
This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is culturally important, we have made it available as part of our commitment for protecting, preserving,...
Candide and Zadig
AuthorVoltaire
ISBN0671463365
Two short stories from Voltaire.

Candide: (4/5) This is very reminiscent of The Alchemist, but less shallow. I really enjoyed it. This is somewhat of a satire of the optimistic coming-of-age stories at the time and Voltaire has enough bite and cleverness to keep this engaging. If movie executives...
Paradoxe sur le comédien
AuthorDenis Diderot
ISBN2070388565
Önsöz'ünde Diderot'nun bu kitabı yazarken ikiye bölündüğü söyleniyor ama tartışmacılar bazen kendi içinde bile bölünüyordu desek doğru olur. Oyunculuğun hissetmekten uzak bir taklit olması gerektiği ya da olabileceği bu kitaptaki antitezler ile gayet güzel yorumlanıyor....
Some Words With a Mummy
AuthorEdgar Allan Poe
The narrator is invited to take part in the unwrapping and autopsy of a mummy. The scientists find the body in a surprisingly good condition. As the title suggests, the mummy is very much alive, due to his special genes and the unusual way he was embalmed.



But it is not a horror story! Actually,...
Three Deaths
AuthorLeo Tolstoy
Leo Tolstoy'a ait okuduğum ilk eser olma ünvanına sahip olan "Üç Ölüm", Tolstoy'un "Kholstomer / Holstomer" (1888), "Alyosha the Pot / Çömlek Alyoşa" (1905), "After the Ball / Balodan Sonra" (1903), "Köyde Şarkılar" ve "Three Deaths / Üç Ölüm" (1859) adlı ünlü kısa hikayelerini...
Marie Grubbe
AuthorJens Peter Jacobsen
ISBN1598183532
Jacobsen's immediate importance was his status as the 'writer of his generation.' Jacobsen's breakthrough came already in 1876 with the historical and psychological novel Fru Marie Grubbe, - entitled Marie Grubbe in English, -which for the first time in Danish literature presented a profound portrayal...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2023