The Millions' Most Anticipated: The Great First-Half 2019 Book Preview (April - June)

Top 10 The Millions' Most Anticipated: The Great First-Half 2019 Book Preview (April - June) : Women Talking, Mostly Dead Things, Disappearing Earth, The Ash Family, What My Mother and I Don't Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence, Exhalation: Stories, Sabrina & Corina: Stories, Home Remedies, The Travelers, I Miss You When I Blink: Essays

Women Talking
AuthorMiriam Toews
ISBN1635572584
One evening, eight Mennonite women climb into a hay loft to conduct a secret meeting. For the past two years, each of these women, and more than a hundred other girls in their colony, has been repeatedly violated in the night by demons coming to punish them for their sins. Now that the women have learned...
Mostly Dead Things
AuthorKristen Arnett
ISBN1947793306
One morning, Jessa-Lynn Morton walks into the family taxidermy shop to find that her father has committed suicide, right there on one of the metal tables. Shocked and grieving, Jessa steps up to manage the failing business, while the rest of the Morton family crumbles. Her mother starts sneaking into...
Disappearing Earth
AuthorJulia Phillips
For fans of Anthony Marra's A Constellation of Vital Phenomena and Téa Obreht's The Tiger's Wife: the kidnapping of two small girls on a remote peninsula in Russia sets in motion an evocative, moving, searingly original debut novel by a dazzling young writer.

One August afternoon, on the...
The Ash Family
AuthorMolly Dektar
When a young woman leaves her family—and the civilized world—to join an off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this lush and searing debut novel.

At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at...
What My Mother and I Don't Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence
AuthorMichele Filgate
ISBN1982107340
*Most Anticipated Reads of 2019 by Publishers Weekly, BuzzFeed, The Rumpus, Lit Hub, The Week, and Elle.com*

Fifteen brilliant writers explore what we don’t talk to our mothers about, and how it affects us, for better or for worse.

As an undergraduate, Michele Filgate started...
Exhalation: Stories
AuthorTed Chiang
An alternate cover edition for this book can be found here.

From an award-winning science fiction writer (whose short story "The Story of Your Life" was the basis for the Academy Award-nominated movie Arrival), the long-awaited new collection of stunningly original, humane, and already...
Sabrina & Corina: Stories
AuthorKali Fajardo-Anstine
A haunting debut story collection on friendship, mothers and daughters, and the deep-rooted truths of our homelands, centered on Latinas of indigenous ancestry that shines a new light on the American West.

Kali Fajardo-Anstine’s magnetic story collection breathes life into her Latina...
Home Remedies
AuthorXuan Juliana Wang
ISBN1984822748
In twelve stunning stories of love, family, and identity, Xuan Juliana Wang’s debut collection captures the unheard voices of an emerging generation. Young, reckless, and catapulted toward uncertain futures, here is the new face of Chinese youth on a quest for every kind of freedom.

From...
The Travelers
AuthorRegina Porter
Meet James Samuel Vincent, an affluent Manhattan attorney who shirks his modest Irish American background but hews to his father’s meandering ways. James muddles through a topsy-turvy relationship with his son, Rufus, which is further complicated when Rufus marries Claudia Christie.

Claudia’s...
I Miss You When I Blink: Essays
AuthorMary Laura Philpott
ISBN1982102802
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“I've spent my adult life prowling bookshelves for the modern-day reincarnation of my favorite authors—Nora Ephron, Erma Bombeck, Jean Kerr, and Laurie Colwin—all rolled into one...Good news: I have finally found their successor.” —Elisabeth Egan, The...
Working: Researching, Interviewing, Writing
AuthorRobert A. Caro
ISBN0525656340
From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Power Broker and The Years of Lyndon Johnson: an unprecedented gathering of vivid, candid, deeply revealing recollections about his experiences researching and writing his acclaimed books

For the first time in his long career, Robert...
Trust Exercise
AuthorSusan Choi
ISBN1250309883
Pulitzer Finalist Susan Choi's narrative-upending novel about what happens when a first love between high school students is interrupted by the attentions of a charismatic teacher

In an American suburb in the early 1980s, students at a highly competitive performing arts high school struggle...
Lanny
AuthorMax Porter
ISBN0571340288
There’s a village sixty miles outside London. It’s no different from many other villages in England: one pub, one church, red-brick cottages, council cottages and a few bigger houses dotted about. Voices rise up, as they might do anywhere, speaking of loving and needing and working and dying and...
Oval
AuthorElvia Wilk
ISBN1593764057
In the near future, Berlin’s real estate is being flipped in the name of “sustainability,” only to make the city even more unaffordable; artists are employed by corporations as consultants; and the weather is acting strange. In search of affordable housing, young couple Anja and Louis move...
Cape May : A Novel
AuthorChip Cheek
A mesmerizing debut novel by Chip Cheek, Cape May explores the social and sexual mores of 1950s America through the eyes of a newly married couple from the genteel south corrupted by sophisticated New England urbanites.

Late September 1957. Henry and Effie, very young newlyweds from Georgia,...
Rough Magic: Riding the World's Loneliest Horse Race
AuthorLara Prior-Palmer
ISBN1948226197
For fans of Helen Macdonald’s H Is for Hawk, this is the extraordinary debut memoir of a young woman who traveled to Mongolia to compete in the world’s longest, toughest horse race, and emerged as its youngest and first-ever female winner.

At the age of nineteen, Lara Prior-Palmer discovered...
How Could She
AuthorLauren Mechling
ISBN0525559388

An assured and savagely funny novel about three old friends as they navigate careers, husbands, an ex-fiancé, new suitors, and, most importantly, their relationships with one another

After a devastating break-up with her fiancé, Geraldine is struggling to get her life back on track...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022