History Books 2014

Top 10 History Books 2014 : Napoleon: A Life, The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt, The Rise of the Tudors: The Family That Changed English History, The Six Wives & Many Mistresses of Henry VIII: The Womens' Stories, The Knight Who Saved England: William Marshal and the French Invasion, 1217, Chaucer's Tale: 1386 and the Road to Canterbury, The Normans: From Raiders to Kings, Augustus: First Emperor of Rome, Edward II: The Unconventional King, A Royal Experiment: The Private Life of King George III

Napoleon: A Life
AuthorAndrew Roberts
ISBN0670025321
The definitive biography of the great soldier-statesman by the New York Times bestselling author of The Storm of War—winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography and the Grand Prix of the Fondation Napoleon  

Austerlitz, Borodino, Waterloo: his battles are among the greatest...
The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt
AuthorKara Cooney
ISBN0307956768
An engrossing biography of the longest-reigning female pharaoh in Ancient Egypt and the story of her audacious rise to power in a man’s world.

Hatshepsut, the daughter of a general who took Egypt's throne without status as a king’s son and a mother with ties to the previous dynasty, was...
The Rise of the Tudors: The Family That Changed English History
AuthorChris Skidmore
ISBN0312541392
On the morning of August 22, 1485, in fields several miles from Bosworth, two armies faced each other, ready for battle. The might of Richard III's army was pitted against the inferior forces of the upstart pretender to the crown, Henry Tudor, a twenty–eight year old Welshman who had just arrived back...
The Six Wives & Many Mistresses of Henry VIII: The Womens' Stories
AuthorAmy Licence
ISBN1445633671
For a king renowned for his love life, Henry VIII has traditionally been depicted as something of a prude, but the story may have been different for the women who shared his bed. How did they take the leap from courtier to lover, to wife? What was Henry really like as a lover? Henry s women were uniquely placed...
AuthorRichard Brooks
ISBN1849085501
This is the fascinating story: William Marshal who negotiated the brutal realities of medieval warfare and the conflicting demands of chivalric ideals, and who against the odds defeated the joint French and rebel forces in arguably the most important battle in mideeval English history - overshadowing...
AuthorPaul Strohm
ISBN0670026433
A lively microbiography of Chaucer that tells the story of the tumultuous year that led to the creation of The Canterbury Tales

In 1386, Geoffrey Chaucer endured his worst year, but began his best poem. The father of English literature did not enjoy in his lifetime the literary celebrity that...
AuthorLars Brownworth

"Lars Brownworth’s 'The Normans' is like a gallop through the Middle Ages on a fast warhorse. It is rare to find an author who takes on a subject so broad and so complex, while delivering a book that is both fast-paced and readable."
Bill Yenne, author of Julius Caesar: Lessons in Leadership...
AuthorAdrian Goldsworthy
ISBN0300178727
The dramatic story of Rome’s first emperor, who plunged into Rome’s violent power struggles at the age of nineteen, proceeded to destroy all rivals, and more than anyone else created the Roman Empire
 
Caesar Augustus’ story, one of the most riveting in Western history, is filled with...
AuthorKathryn Warner
ISBN1445641208
He is one of the most reviled English kings in history. He drove his kingdom to the brink of civil war a dozen times in less than twenty years. He allowed his male lovers to rule the kingdom. He led a great army to the most ignominious military defeat in English history. His wife took a lover and invaded his...
A Royal Experiment: The Private Life of King George III
AuthorJanice Hadlow
ISBN0805096566
The surprising, deliciously dramatic, and ultimately heartbreaking story of King George III’s radical pursuit of happiness in his private life with Queen Charlotte and their 15 children

In the U.S., Britain's George III, the protagonist of A Royal Experiment, is known as the king from...
Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy: Four Women Undercover in the Civil War
AuthorKaren Abbott
ISBN0062092898
Karen Abbott, the New York Times bestselling author of Sin in the Second City and “pioneer of sizzle history” (USA Today), tells the spellbinding true story of four women who risked everything to become spies during the Civil War.

Karen Abbott illuminates one of the most fascinating yet...
God's Traitors: Terror & Faith in Elizabethan England
AuthorJessie Childs
ISBN1847921566
A true story of plots, priest-holes and persecution and one family's battle to save Catholicism in Reformation England.

Elizabeth I criminalised Catholicism in England. For refusing to attend Anglican services her subjects faced crippling fines and imprisonment. For giving refuge to...
A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal
AuthorBen Macintyre
ISBN0804136637
Master storyteller Ben Macintyre’s most ambitious work to date brings to life the twentieth century’s greatest spy story.

Kim Philby was the greatest spy in history, a brilliant and charming man who rose to head Britain’s counterintelligence against the Soviet Union during the height...
Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival
AuthorPeter Stark
ISBN0062218298
In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled...
AuthorHarold Holzer
ISBN1439192715
Harold Holzer makes a significant contribution to our understanding of Lincolns leadership by showing us how deftly he managed his relations with the press of his day to move public opinion forward to preserve the Union and abolish slavery. From his earliest days, Lincoln devoured newspapers. As...
Sulla: A Dictator Reconsidered
AuthorLynda Telford
ISBN1783030488
Lucius Cornelius Sulla is one of the central figures of the late Roman Republic. Indeed, he is often considered a major catalyst in the death of the republican system. The ambitious general whose feud with a rival (Marius) led to his marching on Rome with an army at his back, leading to civil war and the...
AuthorNeil MacGregor
ISBN1481506242
A major new series from the makers of "A History of the World in 100 Objects," exploring the fascinating and complex history of Germany from the origins of the Holy Roman Empire right up to the present day. Written and presented by Neil MacGregor, it is produced by BBC Radio 4, in partnership with the British...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2021