Charleston books

Top 10 Charleston books : South of Broad, The Prince of Tides, The House on Tradd Street, The Indigo Girl, Beach House Reunion, Last Light Over Carolina, Beach House for Rent, Mary Chesnut's Civil War, Rich in Love, Dreams of Sleep

South of Broad
AuthorPat Conroy
The one and only Pat Conroy returns, with a big, sprawling novel that is at once a love letter to Charleston and to lifelong friendship.

Against the sumptuous backdrop of Charleston, South Carolina, South of Broad gathers a unique cast of sinners and saints. Leopold Bloom King, our narrator,...
The Prince of Tides
AuthorPat Conroy
ISBN0553381547
PAT CONROY has created a huge, brash thunderstorm of a novel, stinging with honesty and resounding with drama. Spanning forty years, this is the story of turbulent Tom Wingo, his gifted and troubled twin sister Savannah, and their struggle to triumph over the dark and tragic legacy of the extraordinary...
The House on Tradd Street
AuthorKaren White
ISBN0451225090
Practical Melanie Middleton hates to admit she can see ghosts. But she's going to have to accept it. An old man she recently met has died, leaving her his historic Tradd Street home, complete with housekeeper, dog—and a family of ghosts anxious to tell her their secrets.

Enter Jack Trenholm,...
The Indigo Girl
AuthorNatasha Boyd
ISBN1455137111
An incredible story of dangerous and hidden friendships, ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice.

The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family's three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit...
Beach House Reunion
AuthorMary Alice Monroe
ISBN1501193295
Whisking you back to the shores of her bestselling Beach House series, Mary Alice Monroe weaves together a tale of the struggles and triumphs of the historic Rutledge family of Charleston, South Carolina. Beautifully wrought and rich with keen insight, this is an illuminating tale of new beginnings,...
AuthorMary Alice Monroe
ISBN1416549706
From the "New York Times "bestselling author of "Time Is a River "comes a new lyrical and emotionally satisfying novel that will sweep readers away to the seductive southern landscape--in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Anne Rivers Siddons.

With a warm voice that brings the South to life,...
Beach House for Rent
AuthorMary Alice Monroe
New York Times Bestseller!
Bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe returns to her beloved Isle of Palms to tell the poignant, charming story of two women, one summer, and one very special beach house.

When Cara Rutledge rents out her quaint beach house on Isle of Palms to Heather Wyatt for...
AuthorC. Vann Woodward
ISBN0300029799
A friend read this in the 80's, when it won a Pulitzer, but I began to want to read it when the 150th anniversary of the National Slaughtering caught my attention.

I found I liked Mary Chesnut quite a lot, even when she was saying something with which, as a matter of principle, I disagree. She was...
Rich in Love
AuthorJosephine Humphreys
ISBN0140296107
It's been a while since I read this, but I remember really liking it, and have kept a copy on my personal real life bookshelf ever since it came out. I have a fondness for local authors and books about the but don't uniformly sing all their praises. However Josephine Humphreys deserves my praise and even...
AuthorJosephine Humphreys
ISBN0140077871
I thought this was extraordinary when I read it in 1985. Recently, I pulled it from my add-to-GoodReads shelf. (Six other books in this category sit on my desk, plus a fairly long list of others. They mean too much to me to toss off in a quick review.) I was facing some fairly insipid fiction and got drawn into...
AuthorKaren White
ISBN0451229215
Folly Beach, South Carolina, has survived despite hurricanes and war. But it's the personal battles of Folly Beach's residents that have left the most scars, and why a young widow has been beckoned there to heal her own...

To most people, Folly Beach is simply the last barrier island before...
Carrion Comfort
AuthorDan Simmons
ISBN0446359203
THE PAST... Caught behind the lines of Hitler’s Final Solution, Saul Laski is one of the multitudes destined to die in the notorious Chelmno extermination camp. Until he rises to meet his fate and finds himself face to face with an evil far older, and far greater, than the Nazi’s themselves...

THE...
AuthorMary Alice Monroe
ISBN1416544364
With a strong, warm voice that brings the South to life, "New York Times" bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe writes richly textured stories that intimately portray the complex and emotional relationships we share with families, friends, and the natural world. "Every book that Mary Alice Monroe...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022