The Brilliant Deep: Rebuilding the World's Coral Reefs: The Story of Ken Nedimyer and the Coral Restoration Foundation (Environmental Science for Kids, The Environment and You for Kids, Conservation for Kids)

10 best books like The Brilliant Deep: Rebuilding the World's Coral Reefs: The Story of Ken Nedimyer and the Coral Restoration Foundation (Environmental Science for Kids, The Environment and You for Kids, Conservation for Kids) (Kate Messner): We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga, Dreamers, Alma and How She Got Her Name, Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery, A Big Mooncake for Little Star, The Day You Begin, Thank You, Omu!, What Do You Do with a Voice Like That?: The Story of Extraordinary Congresswoman Barbara Jordan, The Rough Patch, Otis and Will Discover the Deep: The Record-Setting Dive of the Bathysphere

We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga
AuthorTraci Sorell
ISBN1632896338
A look at modern Native American life as told by a citizen of the Cherokee Nation

The word otsaliheliga (oh-jah-LEE-hay-lee-gah) is used by members of the Cherokee Nation to express gratitude. Beginning in the fall with the new year and ending in summer, follow a full Cherokee year of celebrations...
AuthorYuyi Morales
ISBN0823440559
Yuyi Morales tells her own immigration story in this picture-book tribute to the transformative power of hope . . . and reading.

In 1994, Yuyi Morales left her home in Xalapa, Mexico and came to the US with her infant son. She left behind nearly everything she owned, but she didn't come empty-handed.

She...
Alma and How She Got Her Name
AuthorJuana Martinez-Neal
ISBN0763693553
What's in a name? For one little girl, her very long name tells the vibrant story of where she came from — and who she may one day be.

If you ask her, Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela has way too many names: six! How did such a small person wind up with such a large name? Alma turns to Daddy for...
AuthorSandra Neil Wallace
ISBN1481443879
Discover the true story of NFL star Ernie Barnes—a boy who followed his dreams and became one of the most influential artists of his generations—with this beautifully illustrated nonfiction picture book.

When Ernie Barnes was growing up in North Carolina in the 1940s, he loved to draw....
A Big Mooncake for Little Star
AuthorGrace Lin
ISBN0316404489
A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin

Pat, pat, pat...

Little Star's soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake.

Little Star loves the delicious Mooncake that she...
The Day You Begin
AuthorJacqueline Woodson
ISBN0399246533
National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson and two-time Pura Belpre Illustrator Award winner Rafael Lopez have teamed up to create a poignant, yet heartening book about finding courage to connect, even when you feel scared and alone.

There will be times when you walk into a room
and...
AuthorOge Mora
ISBN0316431249
A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses...
What Do You Do with a Voice Like That?: The Story of Extraordinary Congresswoman Barbara Jordan
AuthorChris Barton
ISBN1481465619
Congresswoman Barbara Jordan had a big, bold, confident voice—and she knew how to use it! Learn all about her career in this picture book biography of the lawyer, educator, politician, and civil rights leader.

Even as a child growing up in the Fifth Ward of Houston, Texas, Barbara Jordan...
The Rough Patch
AuthorBrian Lies
ISBN0062671278
Evan and his dog do everything together, from eating ice cream to caring for their award-winning garden, which grows big and beautiful. One day the unthinkable happens: Evan’s dog dies. Heartbroken, Evan destroys the garden and everything in it. The ground becomes overgrown with prickles and thorns,...
AuthorBarb Rosenstock
ISBN0316393827
The suspenseful, little-known true story of two determined pioneers who made the first dive into the deep ocean.

On June 6, 1930, engineer Otis Barton and explorer Will Beebe dove into the ocean inside a hollow metal ball of their own invention called the Bathysphere.

They knew...
AuthorPatricia Valdez
ISBN0399557261
For fans of Ada Twist: Scientist comes a fascinating picture book biography of a pioneering female scientist--who loved reptiles!

Back in the days of long skirts and afternoon teas, young Joan Procter entertained the most unusual party guests: slithery and scaly ones, who turned over teacups...
AuthorTanya Lee Stone
Boldness, imagination, and ruthless competition combine in Tanya Lee Stone and Steven Salerno's Pass Go and Collect $200, a riveting picture book history of Monopoly, one of the world's most famous games.

In the late 1800s lived Lizzie Magie, a clever and charismatic woman with a strong sense...
AuthorKerascoët
ISBN1524769568
This simple yet powerful picture book tells the story of an elementary school girl named Vanessa who is bullied and a fellow student who witnesses the act and is at first unsure of how to help. I Walk with Vanessa explores the feelings of helplessness and anger that arise in the wake of seeing a classmate...
AuthorAnnette Bay Pimentel
The inspiring story of the first female to run the Boston Marathon comes to life in stunningly vivid collage illustrations.

Because Bobbi Gibb is a girl, she's not allowed to run on her school's track team. But after school, no one can stop her--and she's free to run endless miles to her heart's...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022