My Rhinoceros

10 best books like My Rhinoceros (Jon Agee): Dreamers, Bark, George, There Are No Bears in This Bakery, Because, The Curious Garden, Princess in Training, We Don't Eat Our Classmates, Square, A Parade of Elephants, The Good Egg

AuthorYuyi Morales
ISBN0823440559
Yuyi Morales tells her own immigration story in this picture-book tribute to the transformative power of hope . . . and reading.

In 1994, Yuyi Morales left her home in Xalapa, Mexico and came to the US with her infant son. She left behind nearly everything she owned, but she didn't come empty-handed.

She...
Bark, George
AuthorJules Feiffer
ISBN0062051857
I occasionally find myself reading children's books to large gatherings of toddlers, moms and nannies. Life is odd, no? Madly trying to find something I had not read a hundred times before, I tried out this one and it was a smash hit. It is fairly short, so if you are doing a story time you might want to save...
AuthorJulia Sarcone-Roach
ISBN0399556664
The creator of the New York Times bestselling The Bear Ate Your Sandwich brings us another sly story of a hungry bear and a smooth-talking narrator.

A tough gumshoe of a cat--the name's Muffin--protects his territory: The Little Bear Bakery. But there are no bears here. Not on Muffin's watch.

One...
Because
AuthorMo Willems
ISBN1368019013
I knew Mo Willems wrote good books, but they can also be beautiful. I love this book so much. It is dear to me. I think any person who has heard a piece of music and loved it so much that it changed your life in that moment and your life was set on a creative path will understand this story. It is fantastic. I hope...
The Curious Garden
AuthorPeter Brown
ISBN0316015474
One boy's quest for a greener world... one garden at a time.

While out exploring one day, a little boy named Liam discovers a struggling garden and decides to take care of it. As time passes, the garden spreads throughout the dark, gray city, transforming it into a lush, green world.

This...
Princess in Training
AuthorTammi Sauer
ISBN0152065997
“Royalty does not karate-chop.” –Madame Gertrude
 
Princess Viola is great at skateboarding and karate-chopping, but she’s lousy at the royal wave, walk, and waltz. The king and queen are not pleased. What’s a princess to do? Attend the skill-polishing Camp Princess, of course....
We Don't Eat Our Classmates
AuthorRyan T. Higgins
ISBN1368003559
Penelope the dinosaur starts school, but it’s hard to make friends when her classmates are so delicious!

It’s the first day of school for Penelope Rex, and she can’t wait to meet her classmates. But it’s hard to make human friends when they’re so darn delicious! That is, until Penelope...
Square
AuthorMac Barnett
ISBN0763696072
The second in a basic shapes picture book trilogy by Mac Barnett and Jon Klaasen--the first was Triangle, which I also like a lot--that is part of their efforts to deepen the picture book form. As I have said repeatedly (maybe about Klassen in particular, whose Hat trilogy I love) the works of these guys...
AuthorKevin Henkes
ISBN0062668285
New York Times– bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five joyful elephants as they march from dawn to dusk. Where are they going? Read and find out!

An ALA Notable Book

This engaging picture book is just right for the youngest reader and is a perfect choice for...
The Good Egg
AuthorJory John
ISBN0062866001
In this follow-up to Jory John and Pete Oswald’s popular picture book The Bad Seed, meet the next best thing: a very good egg, indeed!

The good egg has been good for as long as he can remember. While the other eggs in his carton are kind of rotten, he always does the right, kind, and courteous thing....
Bilal Cooks Daal
AuthorAisha Saeed
Six-year-old Bilal introduces his friends to his favorite dish—daal!—in this charming picture book that showcases the value of patience, teamwork, community, and sharing.

Six-year-old Bilal is excited to help his dad make his favorite food of all-time: daal! The slow-cooked lentil...
Hair Love
AuthorMatthew A. Cherry
ISBN0525553363
When mommy is away, it’s up to daddy to do his daughter’s hair in this ode to self-confidence and the love between fathers and daughters from former NFL wide receiver Matthew A. Cherry and New York Times bestseller Vashti Harrison.

Zuri’s hair has a mind of its own. It kinks, coils, and...
Tap the Magic Tree
AuthorChristie Matheson
ISBN0062274457
The acclaimed interactive picture book about the changing seasons. “Like Hervé Tullet’s Press Here, Matheson’s Tap the Magic Tree proves you don’t need apps for interactivity,” praised the New York Times.

Every book needs you to turn the pages. But not every book needs you to...
AuthorLaura Gehl
ISBN0425288242
A lonely man tries to buy a pillow . . . and ends up with a new best friend in this silly and sweet doggy tale, perfect for fans of Officer Buckle and Gloria .

Dogs make good pillows, don't they?

A clever pup ends up in a cozy home, and she'll do anything to stay there. She impersonates...
AuthorZachariah OHora
ISBN0735227918
Two pet cats switch places in this comically sweet story of mistaken identity, from beloved author-illustrator Zachariah OHora.

Niblet and Ralph may look a lot alike, but they are very different. Niblet loves noshing on crunchy potato chips. Ralph loves putting on headphones and jamming...
My Beijing: Four Stories of Everyday Wonder
AuthorNie Jun
ISBN1512445908
A 2019 Batchelder Honor Book

Yu'er and her grandpa live in a small neighborhood in Beijing--and it's full of big personalities. There's a story around every corner, and each day has a hint of magic.

In one tale, Yu'er wants to swim in the Special Olympics, a sports competition for people...
Grumpy Monkey
AuthorSuzanne Lang
ISBN0553537865
A hilarious picture book about dealing with unexplained feelings…and the danger in suppressing them!

Jim the chimpanzee is in a terrible mood for no good reason. His friends can’t understand it—how can he be in a bad mood when it’s SUCH a beautiful day? They encourage him not to hunch,...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022