Life in the Fat Lane

10 best books like Life in the Fat Lane (Cherie Bennett): Squashed, Purge, Massive, Second Star to the Right, Looks, Mercy, Unbound, More Than You Can Chew, Unwell, Nothing, Fat Chance

AuthorJoan Bauer
ISBN0142404268
What a great YA book. So many of the YAs I read these days are dark and dystopian and although very interesting and very good reads, sometimes ya just need something a little lighter. While squashed wasn't dark and didn't have some intense teenage relationship it still made me really feel for the characters....
Purge
AuthorSarah Darer Littman
ISBN0545052351
From acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman, a striking story about a girl's recovery from bulimia in the tradition of CUT, PERFECT, and GIRL INTERRUPTED.

Janie Ryman hates throwing up. So why does she binge eat and then stick her fingers down her throat several times a day? That’s what the...
Massive
AuthorJulia Bell
ISBN1416902074
"I'm fat," I hear myself saying. I look in the mirror. My face has gone hot and red; I feel like I'm going to explode. "I'm fat." It sizzles under my skin, puffing me up, pushing me out, making me massive.

Weight has always been a big issue in Carmen's life. How could it not? Her mom is obsessed with...
Second Star to the Right
AuthorDeborah Hautzig
ISBN0141305800
Leslie Hiller is a bright, attractive, talented teenager who leads a privileged life in New York City. She is also a perfectionist. When Leslie starts to diet, she finds herself becoming obsessed, getting thinner and thinner, until she is forced to realize that her quest for perfection is killing her....
Looks
AuthorMadeleine George
ISBN0670061670
An unforgettable debut novel about the way we look at others, and the way we see ourselves. Meghan Ball is both the most visible and the most invisible person in school. Her massive size is impossible to ignore, yet people freely spill their secrets in front of her, perhaps because they think she isn't...
Mercy, Unbound
AuthorKim Antieau
ISBN1416908935

Mercy O'Connor is becoming an angel. She can feel her wings sprouting from her shoulder blades. They itch. Sometimes she even hears them rustling. And angels don't need to eat. So Mercy has decided she doesn't need to either. She is not sick, doesn't suffer from anorexia, is not trying to kill herself....
More Than You Can Chew
AuthorMarnelle Tokio
ISBN0887766390
Marty Black has retreated from a difficult family situation into the area she can best control, her own appetites. She may not be able to control her parents’ behavior, but she can decide what she will and will not eat. Eventually, she stops eating altogether. Marty is close to death when she finally...
Unwell
AuthorLeslie Lipton
ISBN0595859267
"This is an important read for anyone dealing with an eating disorder: the individual, the family or friends. Ms. Lipton conveys a touching portrayal of the struggles involved with trying to overcome this illness." -Cynthia R. Pegler, MD, Adolescent Medicine Specialist

"A riveting and...
AuthorRobin Friedman
"Sometimes trees can look healthy on the outside, but actually be dying inside. These trees fall unexpectedly during a storm." For high school senior Parker Rabinowitz, anything less than success is a failure. A dropped extracurricular, a C on a calc quiz, a non-Jewish shiksa girlfriend--one misstep,...
AuthorLesléa Newman
Judi Liebowitz thinks she's fat. And she's convinced, as she confides in her diary, that she'd be happier if she were skinnier. So when Judi becomes friendly with pencil-thin, glamorous Nancy Pratt, she learns Nancy's secret and joins her in the secret binge-and-purge cycles of bulimia. Before long,...
Goodbye, Paper Doll
AuthorAnne Snyder
ISBN0451159438
(Excript from back cover)
Anorexia Nervosa...
That was the doctor's diagnosis. But seventeen-year-old Rosemary Norton knew better. She wasn't sick; the doctor and her parents were only worryworts. Jason, who said he loved her, was just like the rest of the boys; all he cared about was her...
Feeling for Bones
AuthorBethany Pierce
At sixteen, Olivia Monahan is uprooted from her home when a scandal in the local church costs her father his ministry. The family retreats to the seclusion of a small Pennsylvanian town, where a host of rich characters all play part in Olivia's struggle to understand her disillusionment with Christianity...
After the Strawberry
AuthorKathryn Pope
ISBN9780615288
Lydia Poole wants to be a good person—the kind of person who does everything right and deserves to be loved. To accomplish this, she eats only one cup of Cheerios per day and lets her weight drop below ninety pounds. When Lydia’s sister introduces Jesse, a new friend and filmmaker, Lydia agrees to...
My Sister's Bones
AuthorCathi Hanauer
ISBN0385317042
At sixteen, Billie Weinstein has plenty of problems: She's the only Jewish girl living in the all-Italian neighborhood of West Berry, NJ; she's trying hard to please her know-it-all father who listens to opera at full volume and drives full speed, and her too-accommodating mother who is either taking...
The Passion of Alice
AuthorStephanie Grant
ISBN0553378619
"In Latin, suffering and passion come from the same root," observes Alice Forrester, the wry heroine of this poignant and sardonically witty debut. And who would know better than twenty-five-year-old Alice, passionately committed to her own suffering--an all-consuming addiction to food deprivation--as...
Life-Size
AuthorJenefer Shute
ISBN0380730219
a pretty intense, heartrending novel from the p.o.v. of an anorexic woman in an eating disorder treatment center. a lot of flashbacks. some unfortunate, but, i suppose earned, melodrama. came recommended by marylou, who is awesome.

True Story: bought this at Powell's in Portland directly...
thinandbeautiful.com
AuthorLiane Shaw
ISBN1897187629
Seventeen-year-old Maddy has always felt a hole in her life, but she has finally found a way to fill it with her quest to mold her body into her ideal, thinnest shape. When she comes across the world of -pro-ana- websites, where young people encourage each other in their mission to lose ever more weight,...
AuthorSteven Levenkron
ISBN0445201754
KESSA is the compelling sequel to THE BEST LITTLE GIRL IN THE WORLD that can also be read independently. Here again readers are drawn into the world of a teenage girl suffering from anorexia nervosa. Kessa's character is strongly believable as Levenkron describes her encounters with family, friends...
Empty: A Story of Anorexia
AuthorChristie Pettit
ISBN0800731352
More than five million adolescent girls struggle with eating dis-orders, and more than 80 percent of American women are unhappy with their bodies. Christie Pettit knows these statistics firsthand. As a college student with a tennis scholarship, she found herself eating less and less, compulsively...
AuthorChristopher Paul Curtis
ISBN0440413311
Luther T. Farrell has got to get out of Flint, Michigan.

As his best friend Sparky says, “Flint’s nothing but the Titanic.”

And his mother, a.k.a. the Sarge, says, “Take my advice and stay off the sucker path.”

The Sarge milked the system to build an empire of slum...
AuthorEsther Drill
ISBN0671041576
Deal With It! offers a whole new approach for dealing with your life as a girl. It's a resource to help you learn about, laugh about, and figure out the stuff you go through on your way through life. It won't tell you what to do, because you'll need to decide that for yourself. But whether you're wondering...
Not That I Care
AuthorRachel Vail
ISBN0439087635
Rachel Vail has started her book in Morgan's class room during their homework presentations. Morgan has a troubled background. Her father has left her family and her mother is very hard on Morgan. Her family does not have a lot of money which causes her to not have the same things that her friends have....
Insatiable: The Compelling Story of Four Teens, Food and Its Power
AuthorEve Eliot
ISBN1558748180
Insatiable is an astonishingly moving story of four teenage girls whose shame, fear and confusion compel them to binge, purge and refuse to eat in misguided attempts to feel safe and in control of their lives. This incredible, imaginative story, written in episodic format, is based on real case histories...
Next to Nothing: A Firsthand Account of One Teenager's Experience with an Eating Disorder
AuthorCarrie Arnold
ISBN0195309669
More than simple cases of dieting gone awry, eating disorders such as anorexia and bulimia are among the most fatal of mental illnesses, responsible for more deaths each year than any other psychiatric disorder. These illnesses afflict millions of young people, especially women, all over the world....
Eve's Apple
AuthorJonathan Rosen
ISBN0312424361
Ruth Simon is beautiful, smart, talented, and always hungry. As a teenager, she starved herself almost to death, and though outwardly healed, inwardly she remains dangerously obsessed with food. For Joseph Zimmerman, Ruth's tormented relationship with eating is a source of deep distress and erotic...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022