Drowning Towers

10 best books like Drowning Towers (George Turner): Mother of Storms, The Child Garden, Unquenchable Fire, Engine Summer, Juniper Time, On Wings of Song, Of Men and Monsters, The Stochastic Man, To Crush the Moon, Good News from Outer Space

AuthorJohn Barnes
ISBN0812533453
In the middle of the Pacific, a gigantic hurricane accidentally triggered by nuclear explosions spawns dozens more in its wake.

A world linked by a virtual-reality network experiences the devastation first hand, witnessing the death of civilization as we know it and the violent birth of...
AuthorGeoff Ryman
ISBN0575076909
In a semi-tropical London, surrounded by paddy-fields, the people feed off the sun, like plants, the young are raised in Child Gardens and educated by viruses, And the Consensus oversees the country, 'treating' non-conformism. Information, culture, law and politics are biological functions....
AuthorRachel Pollack
ISBN0879515309
It's uncomfortable to be chosen for Great Things. A lot of fantasists admit that, but Pollack's Jennie Mazdan shows us just how uncomfortable it can be. This is suburban fantasy, reminiscent of Philip K. Dick's suburban SF, and the protagonist is a nice suburban middle-class person who, in a recognizable...
AuthorJohn Crowley
ISBN0553131990
Born into the community of Truthful Speakers one thousand years after the Storm, he was raised on stories of the old days -- a world filled with saints, a world in which all things were possible, a world which finally destroyed itself. In love with a beautiful woman, Rush journeys far and learns much. Taken...
AuthorKate Wilhelm
ISBN0671436848
Juniper Time is a 1st-rate sf novel. Kate Wilhelm has done her usual excellent job of weaving an intricate plot & sympathetically portraying believable & complex characters in settings that are described with force & clarity. This '79 novel is set in the not-too-distant future, when...
AuthorThomas M. Disch
ISBN0881844438
The human society is in the terrible decline and On Wings of Song is a kind of cultural dystopia… Thomas M. Disch writes with so many realistic details that it starts appearing that the dystopia is now…
“They say we’re very conformist, don’t they?”
“Yes, that’s certainly one...
AuthorWilliam Tenn
ISBN0345295234
Giant, technologically superior aliens have conquered Earth, but humankind survives - even flourishes in a way. Men and women live like mice in burrows in the massive walls of the huge homes of the aliens, scurrying about under their feet, stealing from them. A complex social and religious order has...
AuthorRobert Silverberg
In a not-too-distant future, the assassination of an all-powerful New York City Mayor has plunged the five boroughs back into a dangerous cesspool of crime, drugs, and prostitution. Professional prognosticator Lew Nichols joins the campaign team of a fast-rising politico running for the city's...
AuthorWil McCarthy
In the conclusion to this epic interstellar adventure by Nebula Award nominee Wil McCarthy, humanity stands at a crossroads as the heroes who fashioned a man-made heaven must rescue their descendants from eternal damnation….

TO CRUSH THE MOON

Once the Queendom of Sol was a glowing...
AuthorJohn Kessel
ISBN0312931786
George Eberhart is dead. Or was. The newsnet he works for has illegally revived him. But he finds himself examining the sensationalist stories he has been reporting on - for evidence that there are Aliens among us.
Lucky Eberhart, George's wife, loses her job for her role in reviving him, and finds...
AuthorColin Greenland
ISBN0380763958
A fast-moving space adventure featuring mysterious aliens, a journey to a de-populated planet, a mad run from space cops, a ship captain in trouble, and her AI (Artificially Intelligent) companion/ship's computer. Winner of both the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year...
AuthorM.J. Engh
ISBN0312879105
Arslan is a young Asian general who conquers the world in a week without firing a shot and shortly thereafter sets up his headquarters in a small town in Illinois.

A masterpiece of political science fiction and a book to challenge such works as Ursula K. LeGuin's The Dispossessed, Arslan is a...
AuthorCecelia Holland
ISBN0575071427
2000 years in the future, runaway pollution has made the Earth uninhabitable except in giant biodomes. The society is an anarchy, with disputes mediated through the Machiavellian Committee for the Revolution. Mars, Venus and the Moon support flourishing colonies of various political stripes....
AuthorD.G. Compton
ISBN0575118318
A forgotten SF classic that exposed the pitfalls of voyeuristic entertainment decades before the reality show craze.

A few years in the future, medical science has advanced to the point where it is practically unheard of for people to die of any cause except old age. The few exceptions provide...
AuthorPaul J. McAuley
ISBN0380794292
In the next century, an underground chemist meets and becomes obsessed with Milena, a child genius who is the ultimate product of gene-splicing technology. Milena is an advocate of the dolls--artificial constructs that have replaced extinct companion animals. Milena wishes to free the dolls from...
AuthorRichard Cowper
ISBN0708881955
On the Eve of the Fourth Millennium a slowly-building civilization, struggling out of the rubble of the Drowning, was crushed beneath the sceptor of a powerful and repressive Church. But on the Eve of the Fourth Millennium the sound of a magical pipe was heard, and the air was filled with songs of freedom...
AuthorT.J. Bass
ISBN0345246357
A novel of dystopian future in the tradition of SOYLENT GREEN and H.G. Wells' THE TIME MACHINE, with an introduction by Ken MacLeod. This is the second printing, with cover artists The Brothers Hildebrandt.

Tinker was a good citizen of the Hive - a model worker. But when he was allowed sexual...
AuthorPat Cadigan
ISBN0553295128
In her first novel, Mindplayers, Pat Cadigan introduced a very cool setting and technology. Unfortunately, in my opinion, she didn't do much with it, storywise. Cadigan returns to the setting of Mindplayers in her third novel, Fools, and this time she delivers an engrossing story that takes full advantage...
AuthorLewis Shiner
ISBN0553354574
Years ago, Eddie Yates disappeared into the rainforests of the Yucatan, a burned-out visionary in search of cosmic truth. A mysterious photo sends Lindsey, his ex-wife, on a quest to bring him back and puts her on a collision course with Eddie's brother Thomas, whose desire for her has never faded. Their...
AuthorTricia Sullivan
ISBN0553577034
Kalypso Deed is a shotgun, riding the interface between the AI Ganesh and human scientists who solve problems through cyberassisted Dreams. But she's young and a little careless; she'd rather mix drinks and play jazz. Azamat Marcsson is a colorless statistician: middle-aged, boring, and obsessed...
AuthorIan R. MacLeod
ISBN1906301212
Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award: A future world of unrelenting change, strangeness, and uncertainty, experienced through the passions and memories of one remarkable old woman

Roushana Maitland has known great fame and great sorrow throughout...
AuthorJames K. Morrow
ISBN0156002086
I think that for all of us who read regularly to the point where we can't imagine a life without doing it, there are one or two books that feel like they're Ours. Things we found without prompting, discoveries we made ourselves with no help or guidance from anyone or anything, but which change us in a way and...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022