Annie and Helen

10 best books like Annie and Helen (Deborah Hopkinson): Game On!, The Tree Lady: The True Story of How One Tree-Loving Woman Changed a City Forever, The Boy Who Loved Math: The Improbable Life of Paul Erdos, Barbed Wire Baseball, Rachel Carson and Her Book That Changed the World, Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers' Strike of 1909, It Jes' Happened: When Bill Traylor Started to Draw, The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business, Earthling!, The Great Pet Escape

AuthorJennifer L. Holm
ISBN0307982998
Introducing Squish--a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's...
AuthorH. Joseph Hopkins
ISBN1442414022
Unearth the true story of green-thumbed pioneer and activist Kate Sessions, who helped San Diego grow from a dry desert town into a lush, leafy city known for its gorgeous parks and gardens.

Katherine Olivia Sessions never thought she’d live in a place without trees. After all, Kate grew...
The Boy Who Loved Math: The Improbable Life of Paul Erdos
AuthorDeborah Heiligman
ISBN1596433078
Most people think of mathematicians as solitary, working away in isolation. And, it's true, many of them do. But Paul Erdos never followed the usual path. At the age of four, he could ask you when you were born and then calculate the number of seconds you had been alive in his head. But he didn't learn...
AuthorMarissa Moss
ISBN1419705210
As a boy, Kenichi “Zeni” Zenimura dreams of playing professional baseball, but everyone tells him he is too small. Yet he grows up to be a successful player, playing with Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig! When the Japanese attack Pearl Harbor in 1941, Zeni and his family are sent to one of ten internment camps...
Rachel Carson and Her Book That Changed the World
AuthorLaurie Lawlor
ISBN0823423700
In celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the publication of Silent Spring, here is a biography of the pioneering environmentalist. "Once you are aware of the wonder and beauty of earth, you will want to learn about it," wrote Rachel Carson, the pioneering environmentalist. She wrote Silent Spring,...
AuthorMichelle Markel
ISBN0061804428
When Clara Lemlich arrived in America, she couldn't speak English. She didn't know that young women had to go to work, that they traded an education for long hours of labor, that she was expected to grow up fast.

But that did not stop Clara.

She went to night school, spent hours studying...
AuthorDon Tate
ISBN1600602606
Growing up as an enslaved boy on an Alabama cotton farm, Bill Traylor worked all day in the hot fields. When slavery ended, Bill's family stayed on the farm as sharecroppers. There Bill grew to manhood, raised his own family, and cared for the land and his animals.

By 1935 Bill was eighty-one and...
AuthorMaxwell Eaton III
ISBN0375864482
The Flying Beaver Brothers are back, and this time they're hot on the trail of another eco-villain: Fish Stix  Environmental Manufacturing. When Fish Stix sets up shop, most of the islanders are thrilled. After all, Fish Stix are the most popular, best-selling sticks around AND they're good for the...
AuthorMark Fearing
ISBN0811871061
Every kid worries about making friends at a new school, but when nine-year-old Bud accidentally catches the wrong bus and finds himself launched into deep space, new friends are the least of his problems! At Cosmos Academy, Bud learns that Earthlings are the most feared creatures in the galaxy, and...
AuthorVictoria Jamieson
ISBN1627791051
The class pets at Daisy P. Flugelhorn Elementary School want OUT . . .

and GW (short for George Washington), the deceptively cute hamster in the second-grade classroom, is just the guy to lead the way. But when he finally escapes and goes to find his former partners in crime, Barry and Biter, he...
AuthorJacqueline Davies
ISBN0618243437
John James Audubon was a boy who loved the out-of-doors more than the in. He was a boy who believed in studying birds in nature, not just from books. And, in the fall of 1804, he was a boy determined to learn if the small birds nesting near his Pennsylvania home really would return the following spring.
...
Stinky
AuthorEleanor Davis
ISBN0979923840
Stinky was on the 2009 ALA Honor Book list for the Theodore Giesel Award. It is a beginning reader book presented in a graphic novel format (for the purpose of LIS 565 assignment 3, I will count this book as a graphic novel rather than an early reader). Stinky is a smelly swamp monster who believes that all...
Le Grand Méchant Renard
AuthorBenjamin Renner
ISBN2756051241
Face à un lapin idiot, un cochon jardinier, un chien paresseux et une poule caractérielle, un renard chétif tente de trouver sa place en tant que grand prédateur. Devant labsence defficacité de ses méthodes, il développe une nouvelle stratégie. Sa solution : voler des oeufs, élever les poussins,...
Little Robot
AuthorBen Hatke
ISBN1626720800
Another very impressive book by Ben Hatke.

Not just a delightfully good graphic novel that will be a delight for kids, but this one has a *very* minimal verbal content, which is exceptionally hard to pull off.

That said, the lack of a strong textual component means that this book is readable...
Spelling Trouble
AuthorFrank Cammuso
Salem Hyde just isn’t like other kids. For one thing, she’s stubborn, independent, and impulsive. For another, she’s a witch. Salem acts first and thinks later—which means most of her thinking involves coming up with excuses!
Good thing she’s been assigned an animal companion, Lord...
Saving the Whole Wide World
AuthorJudd Winick
ISBN0385386257
Dog Man meets Big Nate in HILO-the hilarious New York Times Bestselling GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES kids love! “A Total BLAST,” says the Miami Herald!

Everyone’s favorite space boy, Hilo, is just settling into life on earth (Bowling? Knock-knock jokes? OUTSTANDING!) when strange portals...
About
Feedback
© BooksList.Best 2022